Denver Bar Association
March 2013
© 2013 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.


Denver Cutthroats Hockey Game and Fundraiser—March 1

The CBA and DBA Young Lawyers Divisions invite you to join your fellow young lawyers for a night of hockey for a good cause.

Tickets are $35 and include a seat in the lower bowl and access to the "party deck" with free food and two drink tickets for beer or soda. The Cutthroats will donate $5 from every ticket sold to COLTAF.

You may purchase tickets at The promo code is COLORADO. For more information contact Denise Lynch at


2013–14 DBA Governance

The Denver Bar Association Nominating Committee has prepared the following slate of nominees to hold office in 2013–14:

President-elect: John M. Vaught
First Vice President: Nancy L. Cohen
Second Vice President: Richard M. Murray
Trustees: Erich L. Bethke, Jaclyn K. Casey, and Richard L. Gabriel.
Board of Governors: Becky Bye, Amy C. DeVan, Jacob C. Eisenstein, Beth A. Faragher, Ruben M. Hernandez, Jennifer L. Jaskolka, Steven A. Michalek, Jerremy M. Ramp, Regina M. Rodriguez, Jessica M. Schmidt, and Leia G. Ursery.

Bylaw excerpts: 7-2-5 Any active, judiciary, or life member of the association may also be nominated for any office, except the office of president, by filing with the executive director a petition signed by at least 50 active, judiciary, life, or retired members of the association requesting placement on the election ballot and designating the office desired. Any such nominee for the office of second vice president must be 37 years of age or younger at the time he/she takes office. The form of such petition shall be made available by the Nominating Committee at the bar association office on or before April 10, and must be completed and received at the bar association office on or before 4 p.m., May 1.

7-2-6 If petitions for additional nominees are not received by May 1, the candidates nominated by the Nominating Committee are deemed elected and shall assume their respective offices as of the following July 1. If more than one person has been duly nominated for any office, an election by the members shall be conducted by the Nominating Committee for those contested offices.


2013 DBA Awards Honorees Announced

Charles F. Garcia has been selected to receive the DBA’s Award of Merit, the association’s highest honor. Garcia will be recognized at the DBA’s annual awards party on Thursday, June 6, at the Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center. Also selected to be honored at the event are Karen Spaulding for Volunteer Lawyer of the Year, Jaclyn K. Casey for Young Lawyer of the Year, and former Colorado Supreme Court Justice Alex Martinez for Judicial Excellence.


Bench and Bar: Meet Domestic Jurists of Denver District Court—March 20

The Bench/Bar Committee is pleased to present lunch on Wednesday, March 20, with the domestic judicial officers on the Denver District Court. Please take this opportunity to meet Hon. Shelley I. Gilman, Hon. William W. Hood III, Magistrate Karen Hubler, Hon. Anne M. Mansfield, and Hon. Elizabeth A. Starrs, who will discuss courtroom procedures, address some of the latest topics in domestic law, and answer questions. The program will run from noon to 1:30 p.m. in the Jury Assembly room on the fourth floor of the City and County Building. Two CLE credits are requested. The cost to attend for DBA members is $15; $25 for nonmembers. Please RSVP at or call (303) 860-1115, ext. 727.

Donate to Wee Cycle Charity Drive—through March

Save your children’s items, including clothes, strollers, cribs, car seats, and other similar items for this annual donation drive. The DBA and CBA Young Lawyers Divisions have partnered with local charity Wee Cycle to collect and donate children’s items, toys, and other necessities to needy children and families across Colorado. If you are interested in having your firm participate as a drop-off center, please email Carlos Migoya at


Pro Bono Recognition Ceremony: See the New Justice Center—April 8

Denver-area attorneys who have met or committed to reaching the Colorado Supreme Court’s pledge of providing 50 hours of pro bono legal services will be honored at 4 p.m. on Monday, April 8, at the Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center. A tour of the judicial center will be led at 3 p.m. For more information or to RSVP for the tour and the ceremony, contact Lauren Dickey at or (720) 625-5440.


14TH Annual Roll Out the Barrels Food Drive

Sign up your office by April 8 to help fight hunger and feed hope again this year. The food drive runs from April 15 to 26 and benefits Metro CareRing, a nonprofit hunger relief organization that operates one of the largest food pantries in Denver. Questions? Please email Kate Schuster at


35TH Anniversary Lawyers Committee Luncheon—May 21

Legal Services Corporation President James J. Sandman will be the keynote speaker at the Colorado Lawyers Committee Luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on May 21 at the Marriott Denver City Center, 1701 California St. Also, individuals and organizations who contributed significantly to the Colorado Lawyers Committee during 2012 will be recognized. Cost to attend is $60. For more information or to RSVP, visit

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket