Denver Bar Association
March 2012
© 2012 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.


2012–13 Governance

The Denver Bar Association Nominating Committee has prepared the following slate of nominees to hold office in 2012–13:

President-elect: Daniel R. McCune

First Vice President: John M. Vaught

Second Vice President: Gillian M. Bidgood

Trustees: Nicholas Ghiselli, Barbara J. Mueller, and Lucia C. Padilla

Board of Governors: Sarah M. Clark, Shelley Dill-Combs, Nike L. Fleming, Catherine A. Hance, Diego G. Hunt, Craig D. Joyce, Margrit A. Parker, Sal Quintana Diane Smith, Sarah A. Steinbeck, and Emily C. Teel.

Bylaw excerpts: 7-2-5 Any active, judiciary, or life member of the association may also be nominated for any office, except the office of president, by filing with the executive director a petition signed by at least 50 active, judiciary, life, or retired members of the association requesting placement on the election ballot and designating the office desired. Any such nominee for the office of second vice president must be 37 years of age or younger at the time he/she takes office. The form of such petition shall be made available by the Nominating Committee at the bar association office on or before April 10, and must be completed and received at the bar association office on or before 4 p.m., May 1.

7-2-6 If petitions for additional nominees are not received by May 1, the candidates nominated by the Nominating Committee are deemed elected and shall assume their respective offices as of the following July 1. If more than one person has been duly nominated for any office, an election by the members shall be conducted by the Nominating Committee for those contested offices.


Pro Bono Recognition Ceremony: See the New Justice Center

Denver area attorneys who have met or committed to reaching the Colorado Supreme Court’s pledge of providing 50 hours of pro bono legal services will be honored at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, April 13, at the Colorado History Museum. Before the ceremony begins, a hard-hat tour of the Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center will be led at 3:30 p.m. The event is sponsored by the Colorado Access to Justice Commission, Colorado Bar Association, and the Colorado Supreme Court. For more information contact Jill Lafrenz at or (303) 824-5333.


CAN’s Roll Out the Barrels Food Drive

The Community Action Network’s 12th Annual Roll Out the Barrels Food Drive is April 16–27. All donations benefit Metro CareRing, a nonprofit hunger relief organization that operates one of the largest food pantries in Denver. To secure your donation barrel, sign up on Questions? Please email Kate Schuster at


LSC Notice of Available Grant Funds for 2013

Competitive grant funds to provide civil legal services in 2013 are available from the Legal Services Corporation. Grants are available only for certain service areas; to view a list of available grants by service area, visit

Information about available grants and a request for proposals will be available at during the week of April 9. Filing dates and submission requirements are also available there.

Information about LSC grants funding, the application process, and eligibility to apply for a grant is available at Questions? Email


DBA Annual Awards Party

Celebrate outstanding lawyers at the Denver Bar Association’s Annual Awards Party on Tuesday, June 5. Honorees include Elsa Martinez Tenreiro, Award of Merit; Troy Rackham, Young Lawyer of the Year; Erich Bethke, Volunteer Lawyer of the Year; Hon. Daniel Taubman, Judicial Excellence; and Elizabeth Correa, Teacher of the Year. The party will be hosted at the Sherman Street Event Center, 1770 Sherman St., and will start at 5:30 p.m. RSVP to

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket