Denver Bar Association
July 2011
© 2011 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Are You Ready For Some Football?


he Denver Bar Association Lawyers’ Touch Football League starts its 43rd season Sunday, Sept. 11. For the last several years, the games have been played at Eisenhower Park in southeast Denver. Each team consists of seven players (lawyers and law students). The league suggests that each team roster have at least 13 players. If you are interested in fielding a team or wish to place your name on the list of free agents that later will be assigned to teams that need additional players, please contact John Stevens at Generally, the league limits the number of teams to the first 10 that apply; preference is given to past participants. The entry fee for each team is yet to be determined (last year’s fee was $400).

Last year’s championship was won by Collateral Attack, besting The Lambs 12-6. The championship was the fourth-straight for the Attack and the sixth in the last eight years. The league was the brainchild of John Madden III in 1968. The Madden trophy is awarded to the league champion by Madden at the commencement of each new season. D

Team Collateral Attack. Top row, left to right: Jason Rietz, Mike Fredregill, Robert Joga, CJ Chapman, Jeff Gaston, Marc Walters, Sean Hanlon, Buck Beltzer and Brent Owen. Front row: Greg McClure, Coach Judge Alfred Harrell, Barry Burns, Kevin Robinson, Jereme Lynn Baker, Jeff Smith and Jed Greenblat. Not shown: Matt Striegel , James Allen, and Colin Barnacle.

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket