Denver Bar Association
April 2010
© 2010 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Picture This: DBA Happenings

Two Colorado Academy Teams Advance to State Mock Trial Tournament

Colorado Academy Mock Trial, Team A  Colorado Academy Mock Trial Team B

Colorado Academy Team A

Colorado Academy Team B

Two Colorado Academy teams won the Denver Regional Mock Trial Tournament, Feb. 12 and 13, at the Denver City and County Building, and both advanced to the state tournament at the El Paso County Judicial Building in Colorado Springs, March 12 and 13. Other schools that participated in the Denver Regional Tournament were George Washington High School, Kennedy High School, La Academia, Denver School of Science and Technology, CEC Middle College of Denver, and Mitchell High School from Colorado Springs. Congratulations to everyone who participated! We want to thank our volunteers for their time and dedication to this tournament. Volunteers who participated in this year’s Denver Regional tournament are: Adam Aldrich, Gary Bauer, John Bolmer, Mark Bove, Howard Buchalter, Chelsea Burtis, La Kischa Cook, Megan Coulter, Andrea Cox, Kelly Cox, Leanne DeVos, Audra Dill, Jim Eichberg, Charisa Feltis, Joshua Feltis, Elayna Fiene, David Frosh, Hon. Richard Gabriel, Teresa Garcia, Michelle Gersic, Sarah Gillis, Paul Gordan, Mary Jo Gross, Hon. Christina Habas, Hon. Robert Hawthorne, Ruben Hernandez, Bradley Hill, Jody Hobbs, Hon. William Hood, Stuart Jorgensen, Katherine Karuschkat, Dennis Kaw, Jill Kessler, Robert Kristufek, Scott Larson, Charles Ledbetter, Marian Lee, Natalie Lien, Michael Lente, Hon. John Madden, Kris Martinez, Maria Massaro, Hon. Robert McGahey, Christine McManus, Hon. Gale Miller, Hannah Misner, Mackenzie Morgan, Michele Nave, Michael Paul, Nora Pincus, Jeffrey Pond, Brad Ramming, Joseph Rivera, Stephen Robertson, Mary Roudebush, John Scorsine, Peter Stapp, Cheryl Rowles-Stokes, Daniel Slattery, Todd Stahly, Elsa T. Martinez Tenreiro, Steve Theis, Laura Tighe, Sylvia Trujillo, Tomás Trujillo, Amber VandenHout, Joel Varnell, Teri Vasquez, Ashley Wiener, Ryan Winter, Suzanne Wolke, George Wortman III and Taylor Wortman.

Fogg Weclomed into Past Prez Family

The DBA Past Presidents gathered Feb. 25 at Strings restaurant for their annual dinner to celebrate their tenures as DBA presidents. Immediate Past President Mark Fogg was welcomed into the fraternity/sorority by Past President Elsa Martinez Tenreiro, who presented him with a past president lapel pin.

  Elsa Martinez Tenreiro and Mark Fogg John Baker
DBA Past President Elsa Martinez Tenreiro places the past president’s pin on Mark Fogg.  DBA President John Baker thanks Mark Fogg for his service as president.

 Roasters Cause Laughter at Honorary

A threatening snow storm (for the second time! The original date of Oct. 26 was cancelled because of a blizzard) and Obama’s motorcade through Denver couldn’t stop more than 50 poeple from attending the Seniors Roast for Jim Bayer, Feb. 18 at the University Club. Dick Bayer (Jim’s son), Robert Fullerton, Charles Brega and Gary Palumbo cracked jokes and relived memories of Jim’s career after enjoying a dinner and slideshow of old photos.  2010 Senior Roast

Roasters (from left) Gary Palumbo, Robert Fullerton, Dick Bayer and Charles Brega praise Jim Bayer (seated) for his remarkable career and dedication to the profession of law.

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket