Denver Bar Association
February 2010
© 2010 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Picture This: DBA Happenings


High School Mock Trial Training Day

Students participate in the training and discuss what they have learned.

The National Institute of Trial Advocacy, the Colorado Bar Association and the Aurora Central Mock Trial Club hosted the Third Annual NITA High School Mock Trial Training Day on Dec. 12, at the Denver City and County Building. This free training was open to all Denver and Aurora CBA high school mock trial teams. More than 110 kids from 10 schools spent their Saturday learning trial skills from several NITA instructors in the Denver City Council chambers. The students heard NITA Director of Specialty Programs Mark Caldwell lecture on direct examination. Judge Robert McGahey taught them about cross-examination Then Judge Christina Habas finished up with a spirited session on objections and problem witnesses. After each lecture, the students split into small groups in different courtrooms to practice what they learned. These groups were led by NITA faculty and other distinguished lawyers and judges, including Judge John Madden, Judge Edward Bronfin, Judge William Robbins, Judge D. Brett Woods, DBA President John Baker, CTLA President Natalie Brown, Norm Mueller, Steve Collins, Christine Washburn, Marvin Ventrell, Sue Pray, Brian Bourne, Andrew Saliman, Bill Carey, Steve Flavin, Bill Marlin, Chelsea Reiss, Todd Bovo, Nikea Bland, Jackie Guesno, Ned Deakins and Jason Young. A special thank you goes to event coordinator Pete Hedeen for his hard work year-round to the mock trial program in Colorado. Daniel McHugh and Jeff Caldwell from NITA pitched in as well to make the day a success. The teams learned important lessons about not only trial practice, but also sportsmanship, professionalism and ethics.

Judge Robert McGahey narrates a slide show about how to successfully cross-examine someone.

Judge Christina Habas presents a document to the students as they learned about objections and problem witnesses.


CBA President Dave Johnson joyfully presents the Award of Merit to Connie Talmage during the Bar Fellows Dinner, Jan. 8.

CBA Award of Merit goes to Connie Talmage

The Colorado Bar Association awarded Connie Talmage its highest award, the Award of Merit, at the Colorado Bar Foundation annual Bar Fellows dinner on Friday, Jan. 8. Talmage has had a legal career committed to helping worthwhile causes. Since 2000, she has been the executive director of Colorado Lawyers Committee, a nonpartisan coalition of 50 metro Denver law firms that do high impact pro bono work to improve conditions for children and the underprivileged. Talmage served as an adjunct professor, teaching ADR at DU from 1996-2007. She has also been involved in leadership of the following organizations: Colorado Women’s Bar Association and CWBA Foundation, Colorado Access to Justice Commission, CBA Judicial Liaison Section, DU’s Student Loan Repayment Assistance Program Committee, Deans’ Diversity Council, Minoru Yasui Inn of Court, the Colorado Campaign for Inclusive Excellence and the CBA’s 2020 Law Firm Initiative Committee. She also volunteers on the Yellow Ribbon Suicide Prevention International Foundation and at her church.


Left to right: Eric Maxfield, Robert Mack, Russel Murray III, Alec Rothrock and Larry Tannenbaum speak as the panel at this CLE program.

Ethics for Gov’t Lawyers

The CBA Government Counsel Section and the Colorado Attorney General’s Office co-hosted the popular annual half-day Ethics for Government Lawyers CLE program on Dec. 11 at The Warwick Hotel. In its ninth year, the program was planned by Larry Tannenbaum, senior assistant attorney general for the Colorado Attorney General’s Office. Speakers included Eric Maxfield, speaking on Amendment 41; Russell Murray III, speaking on the ethics of negotiation and mediation; and Alec Rothrock gave his annual ethics update. Section Chair Robert Mack also was on the panel discussion that was moderated by Tannenbaum.



The Solo Small Firm Section Council of the CBA: Phil Shuey, Dave Sprecace, Eric Nesbitt, Chair Elect Jim Duve, Andy Friedman, Chair Martha Karnopp, Barb Hahn, Andy Toft and Joe Lusk (missing are Joe Bernstein, Mark Larson) had a great attendance for their annual solo small firm holiday luncheon on Dec. 14 at the CBA-CLE in Denver.

Solo Small Firm Party

It was party time for the CBA Solo and Small Firm Practice Section on Dec. 14 as they networked and celebrated the holiday season at the CBA-CLE offices. More than 70 people enjoyed a sumptuous holiday buffet while visiting with new and old friends. Section Chair Martha Karnopp welcomed the group and led the door prize giveaways. E. Scott Baroway won the grand prize — an iPod!

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket