Denver Bar Association
December 2008
© 2008 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Legal Affairs

Most of the following may be true; some partially correct; some may be slightly libelous. We feel certain you’ll let us know.



Rothgerber Johnson & Lyons is pleased to announce that special counsel  Constance D. Smith, and associate Denise D. Hoffman have been selected as members of the Colorado Bar Association Leadership Training (COBALT).

The U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform (ILR) presented the 2008 State Leadership Award to John Suthers for his exceptional contributions as


Colorado’s Attorney General, a member of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) and a leader in the state attorney general community.

Joseph Law Firm announced that attorney Jeff Joseph, senior partner of the firm, has been appointed by Gov. Bill Ritter to the Agricultural Seasonal Worker Pilot Program Advisory Council.


Richard I. Zuber
, principal of Zuber Law, was named president of the Colorado Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers (AAML).

Rico Munn, executive director of the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, was named a Fellow by the German George Marshall Foundation.


The Fellowship fosters transatlantic relations and understanding by sending Fellows to Europe for three weeks to meet with government, business and policy leaders.

In October, the Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc. honored Malcolm Wheeler, a partner with the civil litigation firm Wheeler Trigg Kennedy, with a lifetime achievement award.

Attorney K.C. Groves, managing director of Denver-based law firm Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe, was elected to the board of directors of the State Capital Group, a worldwide law firm network.


John V. McDermott
, a Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck shareholder, was named to the Saint Joseph Hospital Foundation Board of Directors.


Holland & Hart awarded its second annual $10,000 Summer Associate Diversity Scholarship to Yasmin Naghash. The firm also announced that The College of Commercial Arbitrators named attorney Holly Stein Sollod as a Fellow to its membership.


Holme Roberts & Owen
is pleased to announce that it is the recipient of five MarCom Creative Awards for outstanding achievement by marketing and communication professionals.

Hogan & Hartson announced that Jason C. Nelson was accepted into the executive graduate tax law program at New York University’s School of Law.



Otten Johnson welcomes three new associates to its Denver office: Dimitri Adloff will practice with the firm’s Litigation Group; Jared Hassan will practice with the firm’s Business Transactions and Tax Group; and Kaydee Smith will practice with the firm’s Real Estate and Land Use Groups.

    Adloff                Hassan              Smith


Fisher & Phillips, a leading national labor and employment law firm, announced that former Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health, Edwin G. Foulke, Jr., has joined the firm.

Gifford Stevens is pleased to announce the addition of Leah Akin-Acosta and


Clayton Manceaux
as associates with the firm.

Robinson Waters & O’Dorisio added Michael W. Davis as an


associate to the firm.

Jennie R. Wray has joined The Harris Law Firm as an associate attorney.

Huff & Leslie announced that Jessica S. Hoffman has joined the firm as a trial


consultant and associate.


Jackson Kelly is pleased to announce the additions of Samuel L. Reid and John G. Bradbury as associates to the firm.

Roberts Levin Rosenberg added attorney Beth A. Tomerlin as an associate to the firm.

The Ross-Shannon Law Firm is pleased to announce that Rebecca K. Wagner has become a shareholder of the firm.

Steve Long, founder and managing shareholder of the Denver office of Shughart Thomson & Kilroy, announced that the shareholders of his firm and Kansas City-based law firm Polsinelli Shalton Flanigan Suelthaus have merged the two firms, effective January 2009. The firm name will become Polsinelli Shughart, maintaining the strong reputation each firm has established in Denver, the Midwest and across the country.

Arnold & Porter announced that Charles G. Curtis, Jr. joined the firm as a partner in the business litigation group.

The U.S. Attorney’s Office announced that Assistant Attorney Patricia Davies will head up the office’s Special Prosecutions Section, which was vacated last week by Philip Brimmer, who


became a District Court judge.

Holme Roberts & Owen announced that Martha Dugan Rehm has rejoined the firm as a partner. She resumes her practice at HRO with 25 years of experience in corporate law and securities, corporate finance, and governance issues.

      Stuart             Steefel


Winn Halverhout
, managing partner of Husch Blackwell Sanders, opened a Denver office earlier this year. Mary Stuart, Dave Steefel, Chris Ottele, Matt Smith, Jeff Whitney and Sudee Wright all joined the firm.

     Whitney             Ottele            Smith              Wright


Dan Recht represented ABC News producer Asa Eslocker, who was arrested on the sidewalk outside the Brown Palace Hotel while covering the Democratic National Convention Aug. 27. The Denver City Attorney’s office in October dismissed charges against Eslocker. The ABC crew was just doing it’s job, and they were polite about it, said Recht.

Hunter James


Shannon Bell Schmidt of Moye White and Christian Schmidt of the Hustead Law Firm are pleased to announce the birth of their first child, Hunter James Schmidt, born Sept. 1. 

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket