Denver Bar Association
June 2008
© 2008 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Legal Affairs

Most of the following may be true; some partially correct; some may be slightly libelous. We feel certain you’ll let us know.


Michael L Cheroutes Jr., associate attorney with The Harris Law Firm in Denver, has been elected by the membership to serve on the American Civil Liberties Union of Colorado’s board of


directors. He was nominated by the board’s nominating committee.

Amy J. Diaz, a Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck associate, was appointed to the board of directors for the Food Bank of the Rockies.


The University of Colorado (CU) at Boulder presented distinguished alumnus Norman Brownstein with the University Medal at the spring commencement ceremony in Folsom Stadium.


Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck also is proud to announce that Lynda McNeive, shareholder, is the recipient of the Colorado Women’s Bar Association (CWBA) 2008 Mary Lathrop Award. The firm announced that Leah P. VanLandschoot, associate of the firm, recently was appointed to the Women’s Bean Project Board of Directors.

Harry L. Arkin, attorney and arbitrator of Arkin and Associates, is one of the founding members of The IDR Group launched on April 30 in Westminster Hall in the Houses of Parliament in London.


Robert J. Loew
, a director Fairfield & Woods real estate department, was named "2007 Economic Development Volunteer of the Year" by the Economic Development Council of Colorado at its state conference in Burlington, Colorado. Loew was honored for his leadership in shaping public policy,


taskforce leadership and membership development.

Jennifer Eiteljorg, a Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck shareholder, has been named to the Denver Children’s


Advocacy Center Board of Directors. The firm also announced that David D. Powell Jr., a shareholder, was recently appointed to the Colorado Symphony Orchestra Board of Trustees.

Snell & Wilmer attorney Margy Wilson was appointed to the board of directors for two local charities: Creating Caring Communities and Rocky Mountain Cancer Center Foundation.

Bernie Greenberg will be captaining for the 18th consecutive year the Highlands Ranch Cycling Club team in Bike MS Colorado to be held this year, June 28 and 29. The Highlands Ranch Cycling Club is the most successful cycling club to have ever participated in Colorado’s MS 150,


now named Bike MS Colorado.

Robert Zupkus of Zupkus & Angell will become Chair of the 30,000 member ABA General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division in August. He serves as Chair of the ABA Standing Committee on Membership.

Daniel S. Hoffman of Hogan & Hartson received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Colorado State Committee of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

Craig Ewing was given the award for Case of the Year from the Colorado Trial Lawyer’s Association at CTLA’s Annual Spring Dinner for his work on Tappert v. Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield.


Mia K. Jaksic has joined the Denver office of Kutak Rock as an associate in the firm’s Litigation Department. Ms. Jaksic previously was an associate with the firm of Jennings, Strouss and Salmon in Phoenix. She is a 2004 graduate of the University of Iowa College of Law. Her practice


will continue to emphasize civil and commercial litigation.

Nancy Nowak is pleased to announce the renaming of her firm to Utech Law Offices. Nancy continues her transactional practice with both domestic and international clients.

The law firm of Foster Graham Milstein Miller & Calisher welcomes Julia R. Harvey to the firm. Her practice focuses on general civil litigation. The firm also welcomes Michael J. Gates to the firm. He is a civil litigation specialist with considerable experience in business and commercial litigation, employment disputes, general liability, and insurance matters. He has assisted clients with matters such as trade secret protection, employee discipline and investigation, civil rights, insurance coverage, and premises liability.


Scott O’Sullivan is proud to announce he has formed The O’Sullivan Law Firm, which will focus on helping people who are injured as the result of the negligence of another.


Fairfield and Woods announced that Craig Joyce is the new head of the firm’s litigation department. Joyce devotes his practice to civil litigation in state and federal courts and administrative agencies. He also represents a wide array of telecommunications and energy-related industry participants before the Colorado Public Utilities Commission.

Robert J. Dyer III, Jeffrey A. Berens and Darby K. Kennedy announced the formation of their new law firm, Dyer & Berens.  The firm’s attorneys will continue prosecuting securities, consumer and employment class action litigation on behalf of individuals and institutions nationwide.

Fairfield & Woods announced the hiring of Jack L. Mankamyer II as a new associate attorney in the Real Estate Department. He was an associate editor of the University of Colorado Law Review, President of the Business Law Association and President of the Construction and Real Estate Law Association. He also represented small businesses while working with the law school’s Entrepreneurial Law Clinic in 2007.

Bloom Murr & Accomazzo announced that Jamie G. Siler has returned to the firm as a shareholder effective May 5.


Former Magistrate Sandie Franklin is returning to Legal Resolution Center, a leading provider of mediation and arbitration services in the public and private sectors, following a two-month sabbatical on the Atlantic Ocean. 

Waring & Fiflis announced that Victoria R. Mandell has become of counsel to the firm and will continue her practice on utility law, administrative law and litigation.

Sender & Wasserman announced that David J. Warner has become an associate with the firm.


His practice will focus on bankruptcy and litigation.

The law firm of Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is pleased to announce that Hank Brown has joined the firm as senior counsel.


Peck Shaffer announced the new location of their offices: 1801 Broadway, Suite 1700, Denver, CO 80202.

B.H. Greenberg & Associates has moved to 26 W. Dry Creek Circle, Suite 520, Littleton, CO 80120.



Sean Moynihan and his wife Amy announced the birth of our daughter, Nora Jane Moynihan, at 4:30 a.m. on April 30. She weighed 7 lbs., 6 oz., and was


19 inches long.

Chris Koupal, of Chalat Hatten & Koupal, and his wife Laura joyfully welcomed the birth of their daughter, Jo-Ellen Marie Koupal, on February 29.

Waggener & Foster


Julie Waggener and Rick Foster of Waggener & Foster are happy to announce that they were married on May 3. They are pictured with granddaughters Keagan Frances Boyd, left, and Abigail Anne Colodny.


James T. Ayers Sr., 86, passed away April 15. He was a member of the CBA since 1950. In 2000, he was given an honorary lifetime membership. 

Earl A. Hauck, 74, passed away March 29. He was a member of the CBA, DBA and Litigation section since 1968. He joined the International Law section in 1993.

Walter B. Ash, 75, died April 29. He was a member of the CBA since 1959. He also was a member of the Colorado Bar Foundation.

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket