Denver Bar Association
April 2008
© 2008 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Legal Affairs

Most of the following may be true; some partially correct; some may be slightly libelous. We feel certain you’ll let us know.



Suzanne Fasing
has been elected President of the Board of Directors of Child Advocates.  The mission of this nonprofit is to advocate on behalf of abused and neglected children who are the subject of dependency and neglect petitions in Denver Juvenile Court.



Scott P. Greiner
of Moye White has been selected by the University of Colorado’s Leeds School of Business as one of 17 business leaders for its year-long 50 for Colorado program, which provides insight on the state’s economy and industry. The firm also is pleased to announce that Eric B. Liebman has been appointed by the Colorado Supreme Court to a five-year term on the Law Committee of the Colorado Board of Law Examiners.



Rothgerber Johnson & Lyons is pleased to announce that Special Counsel Vance O. Knapp has been named President-Elect of the Sam Cary Bar Association. The firm has also announced that partner, S. Kato Crews, has been elected President of the Board of Directors for the Urban League of the Pikes Peak Region.



Fairfield and Woods is pleased to announce that Susan Fisher, an associate attorney in the firm’s litigation practice, has been named to the Board of the Member Art Students League of Denver.


Dick Holme
, a partner with Davis Graham & Stubbs, who has a broad-based commercial trial practice, has been appointed to the Colorado Supreme Court Nominating Commission by Chief Justice Mary J. Mullarkey. This firm also is pleased to announce that Kenzo Kawanabe, a partner and commercial litigator, joined



The Denver Foundation’s board of directors, and Glen Keller Jr., senior Of Counsel attorney and a former bankruptcy judge, was appointed by Sen. Ken Salazar to a judicial panel reviewing candidates for U.S. District Court judgeship vacancies in Colorado.




Jeanine M. Anderson, a Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck shareholder, has been named to the Colorado Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) Board of Directors. Christopher D. Reiss, a shareholder with the firm, was recently selected for the Metro Denver Sports Commission (MDSC) Board of Directors, where he will serve as a member of both the finance committee and the curling local organizing committee.


Jacobs Chase Frick Kleinkopf & Kelley is pleased to announce that Barbara A. Grandjean, a partner in the firm’s litigation practice, has been elected Chairperson of the Board of Directors for Easter Seals Colorado.



Hensley Kim & Holzer, LLC is pleased to announce that William T. Slamkowski is our newest member.

Moye White is proud to announce that it has added seven attorneys to its practice. The firm welcomes John W. Kellogg, Paul M. Seby, Terri L. Rithner, Mimi C. Larsen, James Belgum, Melissa E. Ryan, and Nicole M. Lucius.

    Kellogg           Seby            Rithner

Pendleton, Friedberg, Wilson & Hennessey is pleased to announce that the following three new associates have joined the firm: John C. Friedberg, Samantha M. White, and Ann K. O’Connell.

  Friedberg       White           O'Connell

Kurt Lewis has joined Pat Ayd and Jim Johnson (formerly Johnson & Ayd) to practice together as Ayd Johnson Lewis.



Holland & Hart is pleased to announce that Alison Suthers has joined the firm’s Denver office as an associate. The firm also is pleased to announce that Laura Menninger has joined the firm.

Cliff Stricklin, the U.S. Department of Justice attorney who won convictions of Enron executives Ken Lay and Jeff Skilling, and former Qwest CEO Joseph Nacchio, will join the firm’s Rocky Mountain regional office on April 1.

Block Markus & Williams announces that its co-founder, Keith Block, has become Of Counsel to the firm.

Featherstone Petrie DeSisto is pleased to announce that Lisa Lee Jordan was made partner at the firm after serving as an associate since 2006. Chasity J. Barker, Victoria E. Edwards and Christopher T. Patrick have joined the firm as associates.

Susan L. Boothby has become a shareholder of Berenbaum, Weinshienk & Eason.

Fognani & Faught is pleased to announce that John (Jack) Fleming Kelly has become counsel to the firm. Kelly will continue to dispute resolution matters and related legal services, including serving as a consultant in the use of ADR services and serving as a "neutral" for mediation and arbitration.


Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is pleased to announce that it has appointed Lisa Simon to the newly created position of Chief Marketing Officer. The firm also is pleased to announce that Geoffrey M. Williamson has joined the firm as an associate.

Kamlet Shepherd & Reichert announced the election of two partners, Rebecca L. Almon in the Environment, Energy and Resources practice group, and Trygve E. Kjellsen in the Corporate and Securities practice group.

Beth Klein is pleased to announce that Carrie Frank will join the firm and specialize in automobile accident and product liability, including medical devices, defective drugs, and product recalls.

Duncan, Ostrander & Dingess is pleased to announce that Richard F. Rodriguez has become special counsel to the firm. He will continue to practice eminent domain, real estate litigation and commercial litigation.

Snell & Wilmer announces Elizabeth J. McNamee has joined its Denver office as part of the Labor and Employment Litigation practice group.



Girsh and Rottman is pleased to announce the relocation of its office to 6000 E. Evans Ave., Bldg 1, Ste. 211, Denver, CO 80222.

Otten Johnson Robinson Neff & Ragonetti is pleased to announce the opening of their newest office in Avon, CO.


Attorney Alan Laff, brother of Ken Laff, passed away Feb. 27, after suffering a stroke. He was 58 years old and Ken’s only sibling. If you wish to convey a message to the Laff family, e-mail David Lichtenstein at


Baby Kitto

Mike Ambroziak
and Joanna Kitto joyfully welcomed the arrival of their twin boys, Nicholas Oscar Ambroziak and Christopher George Ambroziak, on Dec. 17. Both babies weighed 6 lbs.

Baby Munn

Rico Munn
announced the birth of Nyjah Xavier Munn, born Feb. 21 and weighing in at 9 lbs. He joins big sister Asha, 17 months.



The Docket
apologizes for omitting Mark L. Yaskanin’s photo in the March issue. Yaskanin has become a shareholder with Sheridan Ross, where he advises clients regarding all areas of intellectual property, including patent, trademark, and copyright matters.


Snell & Wilmer attorneys Brent Anderson, Kevin Hein, James Kilroy, Tim O’Neill, Neil Peck, Andrew Pidcock and Kevin Taylor were named Colorado Super Lawyers by Law & Politics Magazine.


Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket