Denver Bar Association
February 2007
© 2007 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Legal Affairs


We received a letter from a pro bono client singing the praises of Harold Dubinski. "Mr. Dubinski devoted his time and provided invaluable expertise to help my son through a difficult, falsely accused DUI. … without monetary benefit of any kind. His efforts were truly remarkable. …"


The Colorado Women’s Bar Association collected more than 50 new sets of pajamas for Excelsior Youth Center at its annual holiday party, Dec. 7, at Haddon, Morgan, Mueller, Jordan, Mackey & Foreman.

David Goldberg was the recipient of the 2006 American Red Cross Board Member of the Year award. He also received a Crystal Peak from Urban Peak and was inducted into the Denver Metro Chamber Foundation’s Leadership Circle.

Colorado Supreme Court Justice Gregory Hobbs was part of the faculty of the Middle Ground Project, a joint program of the Navajo Education Technology Consortium and the University of Northern Colorado.

Attorney Kit Cowperthwaite, a senior broker associate with Distinctive Properties LTD was installed as the 87th president of the Colorado Association of REALTORS® at its annual state convention.


More lawyers nominated to the Gov. Ritter camp: Thomas M. "Trey" Rogers III, a partner with Rothgerber Johnson & Lyons and the attorney for Ritter’s campaign and transition team, has signed on as chief legal counsel. Colorado Board of Education member Rico Munn is appointed to be executive director of the Department of Regulatory Agencies. Harris Sherman, senior partner with Arnold & Porter, will manage the Department of Natural Resources. Former congressman David Skaggs will be head of the Department of Education, and Don Mares, head of the Department of Labor and Employment. 1st J.D. Judge Peter Weir will be executive director of the Department of Public Safety.

The Faculty of Federal Advocates held its annual meeting in December, and honored law firms and attorneys for their demonstrated commitment to the FFA Counsel/Co-Counsel Program. Morrison & Foerster was honored for its $50,000 contribution to the Faculty, and Richard LaFond and Sheldon Friedman each received the Ray Micklewright Award for their work and support for the program. U.S. Magistrate Judge Patricia Coan was honored for her service and her commitment to excellence during her tenure with the court.


Sue Fox was the legal member of the team of real estate professionals winning CREW Denver’s Annual Networking Award. She also was a nominee for CREW’s Woman Who Makes a Difference Award.


Penny Parker let Willie Shepherd share his New Year’s resolution in her Rocky Mountain News column: "Get the Democratic National Convention in Denver."

Kenzo Kawanabe shared memories of his grandmother, Hisayo Kawanabe, in a Denver Post tribute to her after her passing at the age of 86.

Jay Reinan got a huge spread in Westword after winning a big lawsuit against Mariner Health Care.

RMN highlighted John Frew, who created "a minor-league empire" with the Colorado 14ers, a the National Basketball Association Development League team that plays at the Broomfield Event Center.

The Boston Globe quoted "classy guy" Andrew Loewi for his glowing statements about Deval Patrick, a former Harvard moot court rival.

Chad Asarch was among a group featured in the Intermountain Jewish News for helping raise more than $2 million for the Allied Jewish Federation.

The Post "Seen" column noted the attendance of Mitch Morrissey and Steve Farber at the Allied Jewish Federation fundraiser. Norm Brownstein was a chair of the event.

Robert Vinton shared his advice with the Rocky: "Find out what you like doing best and get someone to pay you for doing it." He first heard these words from his father-in-law in 1972.




Penfield ("Pen") Tate III has joined Greenberg Traurig to establish and build the public finance group. 

Holland & Hart is pleased to announce that Lawrence J. Wolfe is the firm’s new Managing Partner.

North American Title Company has a new National Commercial Accounts Team. The new team members include Tim Sanford, Debra Wilcox, Margaret Cook and Jessica Chickering.

Jennifer L. Blum, Ericka F. Houck Englert and Kelly Murphy have joined Brownstein Hyatt & Farber as associates.




Minor and Brown is pleased to announce that Brett H. Story has joined the firm as an associate. 

Fisher, Sweetbaum, Levin & Sands announces that Jonathan G. Nash has joined the firm’s transactional department and Eric R. Jaworski and Chelsey M. Burns have joined the firm’s litigation department.


Roger T. Williams has become a shareholder with Ryley Carlock & Applewhite.

Kathleen Johnson has joined Sherman & Howard’s Tax & Probate Department as an estate-planning associate.

Fowler, Schimberg & Flanagan is pleased to announce Katherine Taylor Eubank has become a partner and shareholder.

Davis Graham & Stubbs announced the arrival of four new associates: Ryan McGee, Sara Stanley, Elizabeth Titus and Tom Wagner.






Wade D. Warthen
has joined Murray Franke Greenhouse List & Lippitt.

Godfrey & Lapuyade is pleased to announce that Ryan Warren has been named head of the firm’s Construction Law Section.

Dorsey & Whitney welcomes four new attorneys: Klifton Kime, LaWanda Spearman, Steve Zemanick and Malia Arrington.





McGeady Sisneros announces that Lindsay A. Burleson has joined as an associate.

The Hustead Law Firm is pleased to announce that Michael A. Paul, formerly an associate with Wood, Ris & Hames, has joined the firm.

Eric G. Banta, vice president and legal counsel for ING Investment Management LLC, has earned the Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA®) designation, a globally recognized credential for investment analysis and management.

Sender & Wasserman Attorneys at Law is pleased to announce that Amy Sanchez-Raaz has joined the firm as an associate in the firm’s bankruptcy litigation practice. Kenneth J. Buechler has been named a shareholder.

Davis Graham & Stubbs is pleased to announce that three of its attorneys have become partners in the firm, effective January 1, 2007. The new partners are Ryan Arney, John Elofson and Michelle Shepston.





Longtime volunteer with Comitis Crisis Center, Nan Clydesdale, tells us the center is in need of gently used office furniture for their new facility at Fitzsimons. They will arrange pickup in the metro area. Call (303) 341-9160 and ask for Debbie or Candice. Tax receipt available on request.


Clothing for lawyers: Funny or not? You decide.


Peck, Shaffer & Williams and Becker Stowe & Bieber have merged. The new name is Peck, Shaffer & Williams LLP. The firm will have two Denver offices: 555 17th St., Suite 845, Denver, 80202 and 1120 Lincoln St., Suite 1002, Denver, 80203. Both offices can be reached at (303) 296-3996.

Ryley Carlock & Applewhite has relocated to 1999 Broadway, Suite 1800, Denver, 80202. The phone number will remain the same: (303) 863-7500.


Arthur W. Zarlengo, 85, passed away Dec. 12. He was a retired corporate attorney, an entrepreneur, graduate of Regis University, MIT, Texas A&M, and the University of Chicago Law School.


We welcome your news and photos. Due to the large
number of lawyers honored by publications, we are not able to publish those announcements in "Legal Affairs." Send all other notices, preferably not as attachments, to

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket