Denver Bar Association
July 2006
© 2006 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Picture This: DBA Happenings

Senior Spring Banquet

Approximately 150 people attended the Senior Spring Banquet, which honored attorneys who received their law licenses in 1956. The event began with a few words from DBA Seniors Committee Chair Jim Bayer. DBA Executive Director Chuck Turner then reflected on events from 1956, and DBA President Chris Little and DBA Past-President Mary Jo Gross shared stories highlighting the careers of these accomplished attorneys. 

 Above, the 50-year honorees gathered for a photo.

Seniors Committee Chair Jim Bayer stood to be recognized with other attorneys who have already received this distinction.

DBA Past-President Mary Jo Gross read the bio for honoree Janene Duthie.

Don McMichael, Wayne Fowler, Richard Wohlgenant, and Bruce Evans.

Russian Chief Justice Vists Denver

Left, from left to right, Justice Slaserev, Mr. Soloviev, Gov. Bill Owens, Chief Justice Anton A. Ivanov and Judge Sidney Brooks.

Denver recently hosted the newly appointed Chief Justice of the Russian Supreme Commercial Court, Anton A. Ivanov, for an 11-day visit. The chief justice was here to observe the American legal system as he works to reform the Russian Commercial, Business and Property Court of Russia. As part of an 11-day visit to study our federal courts, Denver and Washington, D.C. provided the venues for an intensive program tailored to meet the Chief Justice’s ambitious agenda for reform of the commercial courts of Russia.

Left, U.S. Bankruptcy Judges with Russian Justices.

Photos and information courtesy of U.S. Bankruptcy Court Chief Judge Sidney Brooks.

 DBA Golf Tournament

Approximately 100 members and guests played in the 2006 DBA Annual Henry Hall Golf Tournament on May 22, at Green Valley Ranch and Golf Course. Starting off with a nice lunch on the grill and some practice range balls, golfers teed-off just after 1 p.m. The afternoon turned “a little windy,” but the golfers persevered and enjoyed a challenging day on the greens. There was a tremendous effort to win the H3 (Hummer) as a prize on one of the holes, but no one was able to sink it with one ball. There were great prizes handed out to the winners, as well as door prizes.

Congratulations to the winners!
Individual Low Gross Men — Todd Jansen
Individual Low Gross Women — Susie Roh
Team Low Gross (below, left): Tim Kratz, Edger Neel, John Haas, Susie Roh
Team Low Net (below, right): Bruce Schilken, Bill Krems, Joe Dischinger, John Clough

Spring Swearing-In Ceremony

The Colorado Supreme Court Admission Ceremony was Wednesday, May 17, at the Ellie Caulkins Opera House. The ceremony was for the 277 people who passed the February 2006 bar exam. The keynote speaker was Dennis C. Maes, chief judge of the 10th Judicial District in Pueblo County. Other speakers included: Hon. Lewis T. Babcock, chief judge of the U.S. District Court for Colorado; Christopher Little, DBA president; and Kerri J. Atencio, chair of the Young Lawyers Division of the CBA.

 Below, left, Julia Illman Maness with her daughter Savanah Rose. Below, middle, David Olson with wife Jamie, and children David and Gabriella. Below, right, DBA President Chris Little speaks to the recently admitted.

CLC Presents Awards

At its 27th Annual Luncheon held May 24, the Colorado Lawyers Committee recognized Gale T. Miller (pictured at left on the left, Glen Miller on right) of Davis Graham & Stubbs as the 2005 Outstanding Sustained Contribution Award for his many years of dedication and support and his extensive contributions to the work of the Colorado Lawyers Committee.

Tarek Saad and Kristen Mix each was named “Individual of the Year” for their work chairing the Colorado Lawyers Committee’s Hate Violence Task Force. Alyn-Weiss & Associates, Inc. received the 2005 Special Recognition Award for sharing their marketing, public relations and strategic planning expertise with the CLC. Steven M. Kaufmann was honored with the 2005 Past Chair Award for his excellent leadership of the CLC. Kelly/Haglund/Garnsey+Kahn was named the 2005 Law Firm of the Year for contributing significant pro bono hours.

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket