Denver Bar Association
April 2004
© 2004 The Docket and Denver Bar Association. All Rights Reserved.
All material from The Docket provided via this World Wide Web server is copyrighted by the Denver Bar Association. Before accessing any specific article, click here for disclaimer information.

Committees & Departments




Roll Out the Barrels
April 12–16
(see pg. 23 for more info.)

Law Day Activities
May 1
(see pg. 23 for more info.)

DBA Golf Tourney
May 17 at the Inverness Golf Club
(see pg. 3 of insert to sign up.)

DBA Annual Party
June 9
(see pg. 23 for more info.)

2004-05 Officer

Mary Jo Gross

Christopher B. Little

First Vice-President
Marian L. Carlson

Second Vice-President
Neeti Pawar

Board of Trustees

Jeffrey A. Esses
Henry (Dick) Reeve
Anthony J. Viorst

Board of Governors Representatives

Ilene L. Bloom, Gary B. Blum,
Patrick J. Kanouff, Gary M. Clexton, Stephen J. Harhai, Alfred C. Harrell, Jr., Kristin L. Mix, Ben M. Ochoa,
Lusanna J. Ro, Karen J. Steinhauser,
William E. Walters

Additional candidates may run for an office by collecting 50 DBA member signatures. The DBA office will have forms for members to fill out and collect signatures. This form has to be completed and returned to the bar office on or before 4 p.m. on May 1.

For information, visit:

For more information, please contact Dana Collier Smith at 303-824-5318 or

Barristers After Hours
Thursday, April 15, 2004, at the
Rock Bottom Brewery, 16th
& Curtis. Two free drinks and
free appetizers. No reservation needed
—just show up! Contact Megan
Brynhildsen at
for more information.

50-year Honorees

The Seniors Spring Banquet, which has turned into one of the best social events of the year, will be Wednesday, May 19, at the Denver Athletic Club, beginning at 5:30 p.m. For reservations, call Diane Hartman at 303-824-5312 or send a check for $35 to Seniors Banquet, Denver Bar Association, 1900 Grant St., Suite 900, Denver 80203.


George Bermant, Ted Borrillo, Will Carpenter, James Cronin, N.B. Ecker, Carl Eiberger, Jack Engles, Bruce Evans, Sam Freeman, Richard Hall, Ralph Johnson, Thomas Kerwin, Dolores Kopel, Joseph Lincoln, Jay Lutz, James May, Gordon Mayberry, George McMahill, Peter Merlin, Joseph Montano, Leonard Mues, William Odell, John Pfeiffer, George Pulver, Robert Ring, William Schenkein, Richard Schrepferman, John Terborg, Martin Zerobnick



Each year, select attorneys are honored at the Denver Bar Foundation’s Barristers Benefit Ball for their extraordinary efforts and dedication to pro bono legal services.

Honorees for 2004 are:

Mark Bove, has been on the MVL panel since 1990. He has taken 27 cases, has been involved with the mentoring program, and continually provides assistance to other pro bono attorneys on consumer and landlord/tenant cases.

Elsa Martinez Tenreiro has been on the Family Law Court Program (FLCP) panel for 12 years. She takes many Spanish-speaking clients. She participates every month, serves on the mentoring panel and supports MVL through the DBA Board of Trustees. She also assists the Law Education Committee with the mock trial competition.

Dee Keller has been on the panel since 1997, served on the MVL Governing Board, participated in the Family Law Court Program, has taken referrals and been a mentor to summer students.

The Young Lawyer Honoree is Jason Cuerdon. He has volunteered monthly for Arapahoe County FLCP for two years and consistently handles difficult cases.

The law firm honoree is The Harris Law Firm. It signed on with MVL in 2003, committing to one active case per lawyer at all times. The firm has taken triple that number. Firm members participate in FLCP in Denver, and have volunteered to assist with technology and recruitment for the program. In addition, Rich Harris has taken 61 cases since signing on with MVL in 1992.

Mark Bove Elsa Martinez-Tenreiro
Dee Keller Jason Cuerdon

Harris Law Firm

Member Benefits DBA Governance Committees Public Interest The Docket Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Division Legal Resource Directory DBA Staff The Docket